creating modern heirlooms and treasures,
the object enthusiast aims simply to flourish in the passion of ceramics
and put good and thoughtful work into the world.

about-emily

I believe in sentiments, fresh flowers, and the people that treasure them too. The Object Enthusiast is my blog and shop where I share life lessons and the vessels that fill the spaces inbetween. Here, I create heirlooms for the modern traditionalist. Holding a mound of clay and working with it until it becomes another person’s treasure truly makes my heart full.
Sharing stories is the way in which I share my life and my passions. It is through ceramics that these stories often find tangible form and come to life for me. It was my sophomore year of college when I met the man who would change my path and put that spark of love for ceramics in my life. Yoshi Ikeda had a tough love approach to teaching, and he saw something buried in me that was ready to surface when I took that first class. It is with his mentoring—and his personal wheel and kiln that were gifted to me when he retired—that I am able to share these tangible stories with you today. Taking the leap into a career as a ceramic artist, I will always be a student at heart. Learning from those past lessons, friendly interactions, and the world around me, I aim simply to put good work into the world. My hope is that the products of my passions and my stories can become part of your future fond memories.

follow along the object enthusiast journey

READ THE BLOG

CONTACT

Stockists

Online

Anthropologie – www.anthropologie.com

Baba Souk – www.babasouk.ca

Sword + Fern – http://swordandfern.com

Colorado

Sunday Supply Co. – Fort Collins http://www.sundaysupplyco.com

Kansas

Coveted Home – Prairie Village http://covetedhome.com

Michigan

Have Company – Grand Rapids http://have-company.com

Minnesota

A Mano – Minneapolis http://www.weshopamano.com

Parc Boutique – Minneapolis http://www.parcboutique.com

Mississippi

Amelia – Oxford http://ameliapresents.com

Missouri

Fable – Kansas City http://shopfable.co

Nebraska

Paper Kite – Lincoln

Hutch – Omaha http://www.facebook.com/hutchomaha

Oregon

House of Commons – Portland http://houseofcommonspdx.com/

Schoolhouse Electric Co. – Portland http://www.schoolhouseelectric.com

Virginia

Na Nin – Richmond http://shopnanin.com

Need Supply Co. – Richmond http://needsupply.com

Washington

Moorea Seal – Seattle http://www.mooreaseal.com